CPSA Annual Awards 2016


Nominations for the CPSA Annual Awards 2016 are now closed! Thank you to everyone that has nominated.

Below are the descriptions of the ten awards being handed out this year and you can vote in as many categories as you like.

The awards evening is kindly sponsored by Archant Dialogue.


Special Contribution Award

Sponsored by Blaser, this award recognises the outstanding individual contribution that someone has made to the sport. Previous winners of this award include Ian Coley MBE, Keith Murray and last years recipient John Robinson.

Disabled Shooter of the Year

Sponsored by EasyHit, this award recognises the success of a disabled shooter over the course of the last year. Last year this category was won by Andy Womble, with Sam Nunn and Adrian Last winning it in 2014 and 2013 respectively.

Club/Ground of the Year

Sponsored by Promatic, this category rewards the club or ground that has made a significant contribution to the shooting experience of CPSA members. Previously, Cambridge Gun Club, Southdown Gun Club, Orston Shooting Ground and Northall Clay Pigeon Club have all won this award.

School of the Year

Sponsored by The Schools Challenge, this award recognises the school or college that has best encouraged and supported it's students in clay pigeon shooting. Previous winners include Warwickshire College, Bredon School and Helena Romanes.

Development Initiative of the Year

Sponsored by Romero Sports and Leisure, this award recognises any project or initiative that has achieved success in developing the sport through attracting more shooters and encouraging new participants. The Schools Challenge, Elite Shooting Academy, Shotgun & Chelsea Bun Club and the East Midlands Regional Committee have all previously won this award.

County Committee of the Year

This is a new award, which will be presented to the county committee that has ‘gone the extra mile’ and made positive contributions to the sport of clay shooting, from grass roots participation through to team management, growing and governing the sport while underpinning the core demands of a county committee.

Volunteer of the Year

Sponsored by Sport England, this category recognises the contribution of an outstanding volunteer who has tirelessly worked to support the sport or their club, county or region, in order to ensure the enjoyment of others. Previous winners of this award include Richard Hunter, Kevin White, Julie Sperling and Phil Weston.

Coach of the Year

Sponsored by Browning, this award recognises the contribution of a CPSA-qualified coach in developing their shooters to make excellent progress and/or achieve great success. Sarah White won this award in 2015, with Paul Dancer and John Robinson winning in 2014 and 2013 respectively.

Young Shot of the Year

Sponsored by Beretta, this category rewards the success and progress made by an outstanding young shooter over the year. The nominee must be 16 or under on 31st December 2015. Previously, Amy Easeman, Josh Bridges, Taylor Hedgecock and Amber Hill have all won this award.

Clay Shooter of the Year

Sponsered by Clay Shooter, this award recognises the outstanding shot of the year for their achievement at the highest level or consistent high performance throughout the season. Previous recipients of this prestigious award include Paul Chaplow, Amber Hill, George Digweed MBE and Peter Wilson MBE.